Vanta Competitors and Alternatives: 14 Compared by List Price

Scytale is the lowest-priced Vanta competitor among the compliance automation platforms we compared, at $7,500 a year including one framework, against $14,000 for Vanta Essentials (1–20 employees); both are AWS Marketplace list prices checked October 24, 2026. OpenGRC lists lower, at $4,500, but has no third-party integrations, and 6 of the 14 Vanta alternatives publish no US dollar price.

  • Cheapest compliance automation platform: Scytale, $7,500 a year with one framework
  • Cheapest with an audit on the same contract: Scytale, $11,700 with its third-party audit line
  • Closest like-for-like rival: Drata, whose Foundation package lists at $15,000 for 1–50 employees
Vanta competitors: Scytale: cheapest compliance automation platform.
Ranked by list price per year, platform + one framework (USD). Checked October 24, 2026.
#Productlist price per year, platform + one framework (USD)Best forMain limitLink
1 OpenGRC $4,500 Teams that will enter evidence by hand No third-party integrations Visit site for OpenGRC (official site, opens in a new tab)
2 Scytale $7,500 Lowest automation price, audit add-on Starting price; quoted per org size Visit site for Scytale (official site, opens in a new tab)
3 Thoropass $8,700 Software and SOC 2 audit from one firm Audit by its own in-house auditors Visit site for Thoropass (official site, opens in a new tab)
4 Sprinto $9,500 One framework, up to 100 employees Each extra framework adds cost Visit site for Sprinto (official site, opens in a new tab)
5 Drata $15,000 Companies of 1–50 employees Frameworks priced extra above 50 Visit site for Drata (official site, opens in a new tab)
5 Scrut $15,000 Teams of up to 20 employees Audit fees are separate Visit site for Scrut Automation (official site, opens in a new tab)
5 Secureframe $15,000 Adding CMMC or NIST later Fees non-cancellable on AWS Visit site for Secureframe (official site, opens in a new tab)
8 Strike Graph $18,000 ISO 27001 or ISO 42001 as the first framework Annual audits cost extra Visit site for Strike Graph (official site, opens in a new tab)

Not every product on the market. Links go to each vendor’s official site unless marked as partner links. How we rank Not ranked: Comp AI (cloud plans quote only; Community Edition free to self-host); Delve (quote only, no published price); Eramba (priced in euros only: €2,500 a year on-premises, Community edition free); Hyperproof (quote only, no published price); Oneleet (quote only, no published price); Optro (formerly AuditBoard) (quote only, no published price).

We ranked every tool by one number: its published entry list price for 12 months of the platform plus one framework, from its public AWS Marketplace listing or its own pricing page. These are list prices, not negotiated ones, and each listing has its own headcount band, so read the “Best for” column. Drata, Scrut and Secureframe tie at the same price, so they share a rank and sit A–Z. Referral or affiliate deals never change a position.

Vanta competitors compared by price and audit

Vanta competitors range from $4,500 a year (OpenGRC, no integrations) to $18,000 (Strike Graph Scale) at list, and only Scytale and Thoropass sell a SOC 2 audit line on the same listing.

ToolEntry list price per yearHeadcount bandAudit on the listing?Free self-hosted edition?
OpenGRC$4,500 (Basic)Not statedNoYes, Community
Scytale$7,500, one frameworkQuoted per org sizeYes, $4,200 third-party auditNo
Thoropass$8,700, first frameworkNot statedYes, $5,800 SOC 2 audit (in-house)No
Sprinto$9,500, one frameworkUp to 100 employeesNoNo
Vanta Essentials$14,000, one framework1–20 employeesNoNo
Drata Foundation$15,0001–50 employeesNoNo
Scrut$15,000Up to 20 employeesNo: “Audit fees are separate”No
Secureframe$15,000, one frameworkUp to 100 employeesNoNo
Strike Graph Scale$18,000, one frameworkNot statedNo: “Annual audits (additional cost)”No

Buyers often pay less than list. Vendr’s anonymized buyer data puts the median Vanta contract at $20,000 a year and Drata’s at $24,934; our page on Vanta’s plan-by-plan pricing shows every add-on.

The 14 Vanta alternatives

Each tool below shows its list price or “quote only”, what the price covers and who should skip it, in table order.

1. OpenGRC

OpenGRC has the lowest published price here: $4,500 a year for Basic, with unlimited users and frameworks, or $7,500 for Enhanced, which adds setup help and initial consulting. The Community edition is free to self-host. OpenGRC’s own FAQ says it has no third-party integrations, only a REST API.

  • Who it’s for: a small team that wants a cheap control register and will upload evidence itself.
  • Skip it if: you want evidence pulled automatically from AWS, Google Workspace or your HR system. That is the main thing Vanta sells.

2. Scytale

Scytale lists its compliance automation platform at $7,500 a year including one framework, plus $2,100 for each extra framework. The same AWS listing sells a third-party audit at $4,200 and a penetration test at $4,500, so platform plus audit lists at $11,700. Scytale says it covers 80+ frameworks, including SOC 2, ISO 27001 and PCI DSS.

  • Who it’s for: a startup that wants the lowest automation list price and one contract that can include the audit.
  • Skip it if: you need a fixed price before a call; every line is a starting price “per org size”.

3. Thoropass

Thoropass lists its platform from $8,700 a year, including the first framework, and a SOC 2 audit subscription from $5,800, “performed by in-house auditors”. Together that is $14,500 a year at list. The listing says renewal prices may rise and fees are non-refundable.

  • Who it’s for: a company that wants the software and the CPA firm under one roof.
  • Skip it if: your customers want an auditor with no tie to your compliance software. Ask them before you sign.

4. Sprinto

Sprinto lists at $9,500 a year on AWS Marketplace: $7,500 for the Starter platform (up to 100 employees) plus $2,000 for one framework, such as SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HIPAA.

  • Who it’s for: a startup of up to 100 people that needs one framework.
  • Skip it if: you need three or more frameworks; each one adds to the bill.

Vanta (the baseline)

Vanta Essentials lists at $14,000 a year for 1–20 employees, with Plus at $21,500 and Professional at $23,000. Vanta publishes no price above 20 employees. Four of the competitors above list lower; for the direct match-up, see Vanta vs Drata head to head.

5. Drata (tie)

Drata’s Foundation package lists at $15,000 a year for companies of 1–50 employees. Above that, Drata lists a 100-employee platform at $25,000 plus $7,500 per framework.

  • Who it’s for: a company of up to 50 people that wants one package price.
  • Skip it if: you have fewer than 20 employees and want the lowest list price; Vanta Essentials lists lower.

5. Scrut (tie)

Scrut lists its compliance automation platform at $15,000 a year for organizations of up to 20 employees, and the listing says “Audit fees are separate.” Scrut names SOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, ISO 42001 and the EU AI Act among its frameworks.

  • Who it’s for: a small team that also needs AI frameworks such as ISO 42001.
  • Skip it if: you have more than 20 employees; the listed price no longer applies.

5. Secureframe (tie)

Secureframe lists at $15,000 a year: $7,500 for the platform (up to 100 employees) plus $7,500 for the first framework. The listing names CMMC and NIST 800-171 among its frameworks and says fees are non-cancellable.

  • Who it’s for: a company that expects to add federal frameworks later.
  • Skip it if: you want the lowest SOC 2 list price; Sprinto and Scytale list lower.

8. Strike Graph

Strike Graph’s Scale plan lists at $18,000 a year, including one Tier 1 or Tier 2 framework, 20 security questionnaires and reduced audit pricing. Tier 1 frameworks (SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR) cost $3,000 each to add. The listing says annual audits cost extra.

  • Who it’s for: a company whose first framework is ISO 27001 or ISO 42001, which sit in Tier 2.
  • Skip it if: price is the deciding factor; it has the highest entry list price here.

Not ranked: quote-only and euro-priced tools

Six Vanta alternatives publish no US dollar price, so they can’t be ranked on price. We list them A–Z.

ToolWhat the vendor says it coversWhy it’s not ranked
Comp AISOC 2, ISO 27001, HIPAA, GDPR; free Community Edition (AGPLv3)Cloud plans quote only
DelveSOC 2, HIPAA, ISO 27001, GDPR, PCI DSS, ISO 42001Quote only
ErambaISO 27001, SOC 2, NIS2, DORA, GDPR; free Community editionEuro prices only (€2,500 a year on-premises)
Hyperproof160+ frameworks, including SOC 2, ISO 27001, CMMC, FedRAMPQuote only
OneleetCompliance platform; pricing “depends on a few factors”Quote only
Optro (formerly AuditBoard)Audit, risk, infosec and compliance for larger companiesQuote only

Delve: in March 2026, TechCrunch reported allegations, made in an anonymous Substack post by someone who said they worked at a former Delve client, that Delve produced fabricated compliance evidence. Delve called the post misleading and said final reports come only from independent, licensed auditors.

AuditBoard renamed itself Optro on March 9, 2026. Optro and Hyperproof are closer to enterprise GRC suites; our comparison of enterprise GRC tools covers that end of the market.

Is the audit included?

The audit is not included in Vanta’s price or in most competitors’ prices: a SOC 2 report comes from a licensed CPA firm, billed separately. Scytale and Thoropass are the exceptions here that list an audit line next to the software; to pick the CPA firm yourself, compare SOC 2 audit firms.

Budget three lines, not one:

  1. The software, from the table above.
  2. The CPA firm’s audit fee, which Vanta puts at $10,000–$50,000.
  3. A penetration test, if your auditor or customers ask for one. Scytale lists one at $4,500.

Our SOC 2 compliance cost breakdown adds the three up for a typical startup.

Free and open-source Vanta alternatives

Three Vanta alternatives are free to self-host: Comp AI Community Edition, Eramba Community and OpenGRC Community.

Free editionLicense or termsWhat you give up
Comp AI Community EditionAGPLv3, self-hostedManaged hosting and support (Comp AI Cloud is a separate paid product)
Eramba CommunityFree on-premisesEnterprise features; support is community only
OpenGRC CommunityFree, self-hostedIntegrations and vendor support

Free software still leaves you paying for the audit, and someone on your team runs the servers.

If you’re comparing against Drata

Drata is the closest match to Vanta, and most Drata competitors are the same tools listed here. Drata’s Foundation package lists at $15,000 a year against $14,000 for Vanta Essentials, and Scytale, Thoropass and Sprinto list below both.

How to check the audit is real

Check the audit by confirming that a licensed CPA firm signs the report, not the software vendor. The Journal of Accountancy reported in February 2026 that most compliance tool providers are not CPA firms and cannot attest that controls work.

  • Ask which CPA firm will sign the report, and get its legal name.
  • Look the firm up in the AICPA peer review public file.
  • Ask to see a redacted sample report and how many samples the auditor tests.
  • Be wary of a report promised in days; real Type 2 testing covers months.

Frequently asked questions

Who is Vanta's biggest competitor?

Drata is Vanta's closest like-for-like competitor: both sell SOC 2 automation to startups, with list prices on AWS Marketplace of $14,000 for Vanta Essentials and $15,000 for Drata Foundation. No public source ranks the market by revenue.

Is there a free alternative to Vanta?

Yes. Comp AI's Community Edition (AGPLv3), Eramba Community and OpenGRC Community are free to self-host. You run the servers, and none of them includes an audit.

Does Vanta include the audit?

No. Vanta's list prices cover the software; the SOC 2 audit is a separate fee paid to a CPA firm. Thoropass and Scytale are the competitors here that sell an audit line on the same marketplace listing.

Sources

  1. Vanta on AWS Marketplace (list prices, 12-month contract), checked
  2. Drata Foundation package on AWS Marketplace (list price), checked
  3. Scytale on AWS Marketplace (platform, framework, audit and pen test list prices), checked
  4. Thoropass on AWS Marketplace (platform and SOC 2 audit subscription), checked
  5. Sprinto on AWS Marketplace (list prices), checked
  6. Secureframe on AWS Marketplace (list prices), checked
  7. Scrut on AWS Marketplace (list price, up to 20 employees), checked
  8. Strike Graph on AWS Marketplace (Scale plan and framework tiers), checked
  9. OpenGRC: pricing and FAQ, checked
  10. Eramba: Enterprise pricing, checked
  11. Comp AI on GitHub (Community Edition, AGPLv3), checked
  12. TechCrunch: Delve accused of misleading customers with 'fake compliance' (March 21, 2026), checked
  13. CPA Practice Advisor: AuditBoard is now Optro (March 9, 2026), checked
  14. Journal of Accountancy: Promises of 'fast and easy' threaten SOC credibility (February 2026), checked